Sainz with his first-ever win as Lewis returns to the podium

In what was a wild race at Silverstone from start to finish, Carlos Sainz crossed the finish line first to capture his first ever Grand Prix victory. The race win was anything but certain, however, as safety cars and tire strategies had the result in question until the very last lap.

On the opening lap of the race, Max Verstappen got off the line well, overtaking Sainz into Turn 1. They didn’t make it much further, however, as down the grid George Russell veered left to close off Pierre Gasly, making contact with Gasly and in turn Zhou Guanyu, flipping Zhou upside down skidding into the barrier. This brought out the red flag and reset the grid order, giving Sainz and several other drivers a second chance at a standing restart. Sainz took advantage of the second chance, covering off Verstappen and leading a close group that included Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, and Sergio Perez. With DRS enabled, Verstappen overtook Sainz and looked to be in control until a bit of carbon debris on the track damaged his floor, forcing Verstappen to pit and drop down the field.

With both Red Bulls damaged and towards the rear of the field, the two Ferraris were left to battle. Leclerc showed better pace, however, and team orders were given to swap Leclerc and Sainz, trying to prevent a charging Lewis Hamilton from catching the leaders. After the pit stops, Hamilton was unable to pull off the overcut on either of the two Ferrari drivers, leaving Leclerc leading with Sainz in second. A fuel pump failure for Esteban Ocon threw a wrench into the last 10 laps of the race, bringing out a safety car. Sainz, Hamilton, and Perez all stopped for soft tires, leaving Leclerc to defend on a set of old hard tires. Leclerc was a sitting duck and Sainz easily overtook him on the restart. Perez, Hamilton, and Leclerc swapped places several times in a fantastic bit of close racing. In the end, Perez was able to secure second place, followed by Hamilton.

Final Finishing Order:

  1. Carlos Sainz

  2. Sergio Perez

  3. Lewis Hamilton

  4. Charles Leclerc

  5. Fernando Alonso

  6. Lando Norris

  7. Max Verstappen

  8. Mick Schumacher

  9. Sebastian Vettel

  10. Kevin Magnussen

  11. Lance Stroll

  12. Nicholas Latifi

  13. Daniel Ricciardo

  14. Yuki Tsunoda

  15. Esteban Ocon (DNF)

  16. Pierre Gasly (DNF)

  17. Valteri Bottas (DNF)

  18. George Russell (DNF)

  19. Zhou Guanyu (DNF)

  20. Alex Albon (DNF)

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All